Anyone who’s spent much time in Manhattan in the past few years is all too familiar with the hideous 12-foot inflatable rat that labor unions station outside buildings to protest the building’s union-unfriendly owners and/or tenants. The rat spent a few months stationed outside my office building recently, protesting (I think) the pseudotrendy, pseudogourmet soup-and-wrap haven Cosi on the corner. It disappeared, but this week I’ve had the pleasure of seeing this creature again every day on my walk to work; it’s stationed on 5th Ave between 33rd and 34th Streets.

This time, though, it’s got a friend: a very well-dressed inflatable pig, complete with top hat, vest, and pinstriped shirt. I’ve seen the pig before, but I’d never seen them together.

Inflatable Union Pig and Rat


Bookmark and Share

